Advising Excellence Awards

The UNCG Advising Excellence awards recognize the commitments of faculty and staff who make significant contributions to student success through the delivery of exemplary academic advising.
Two UNCG Advising Excellence Awards are presented each spring term, honoring a faculty advisor and a professional academic advisor. Both awards and the selection criteria have been modeled to reflect the regional and national advising awards established by the National Academic Advising Association (NACADA).

Please click here to submit your 2021-2022 award nomination(s).

Congratulations to the 2021-2022 winners of the Advising Excellence Awards:
Caitlin Saraphis
College of Arts and Sciences
Professional Advisor recipient

Robin Maxwell
Department of Biology
Faculty Advisor recipient

Previous Award Recipients:

  • Pam Ladrow - 2021 Faculty Advisor Recipient, Biology, CAS
  • Sidney Stretz - 2021 Professional Advisor Recipient, CVPA
  • Christina Moreira - 2020 Faculty Recipient, Biology, CAS
  • Jennifer Reich - 2020 Professional Advisor Recipient, CVPA
  • Sarah Dunning - 2019 Faculty Recipient, Communication Studies, CAS
  • Brian Strickland - 2019 Professional Advisor Recipient, School of Education
  • Kathryn Aldridge - 2018 Faculty Recipient, Human Development & Family Studies, HHS
  • Elena Medeiros - 2018 Professional Advisor Recipient, Students First Office

Each recipient will receive a monetary award that may be used toward attendance at the annual NACADA (National Academic Advising Association) conference held in the next fiscal year or toward other professional development opportunities at the discretion of the recipient.

All nominees must have a minimum of two years of service at the time of nomination with ongoing academic advising responsibilities at UNCG. Faculty award nominees must be teaching faculty in which academic advising accounts for less than 50% of their institutional responsibilities.

Nominations are solicited early during the spring term each academic year and can be submitted by supervisors or faculty/staff peers. The Advising Excellence Award selection committee typically begin their review of all nominations in early March, and award recipients are announced by the end of the Spring term.

2021-2022 Selection Committee Members

Dana Saunders - Students First Office
Kim Sousa-Peoples - New Student Transitions and First Year Experience
Trina Gabriel - Division of Student Success
Pamela Ladrow - College of Arts and Sciences
Chris Gregory - Division of Student Affairs
  • Proven ability to establish strong rapport and interpersonal relationships with advisees and advising colleagues
  • Demonstrated ability to engage in, promote, and support development advising
  • Exhibited commitment to guiding students in their academic and career paths
  • Evidence of advising that supports and aligns with NACADA’s Core Values (Caring, Commitment, Empowerment, Inclusivity, Integrity, Professionalism, Respect)
  • Mastery of institutional regulations, policies, procedures, and curricula
  • Participation in and support of advisor development programs