Implementation Committee

The new General Education Program, Minerva’s Academic Curriculum (MAC), has the 11 competency working groups and the standing implementation subcommittee (IC) under the direction of the General Education Council (GEC). The GEC was empowered by the Faculty Senate to form and charge these committees. The IC will report to the GEC on curricular issues and to the Office of the Provost for administrative concerns. The GEC reserves the right to amend the following charges based on the needs of the MAC.

The IC will:

  • Advise the GEC on curricular issues related to implementation
  • Report to GEC with timely updates on progress
  • Send all curricular proposals to GEC for review and final voting
  • Communicate and work with the 11 competency working groups on issues related to implementation

Additionally, the IC will report to the Office of the Provost for the following:

  • Implementation timeline
  • CIM proposal/revision process
  • DegreeWorks and Banner implementation
  • Assessment process
  • Recertification process
  • Faculty development

The IC is composed of various campus stakeholders. They will serve in both an advisory role for curricular issues and in a decision-making role for administrative issues. GEC may adjust membership as needed.

The current members of the MAC Implementation Committee are listed below, along with the administrative role/unit they represent:

Unit/Position First Name Last Name Email
UNCG Faculty, Co-Chair Joi Bulls jwbulls@uncg.edu
Dean of Undergraduate Studies, Co-Chair Andrew Hamilton A_hamilt@uncg.edu
Chair, General Education Council Aaron Terranova Abterran@uncg.edu
Faculty Senate Representative Amy Harris a_harri2@uncg.edu
Undergraduate Studies/Division of Student Success Representative Dana Saunders dfsaunde@uncg.edu
UNCG Advising Council Heather Searcy hksearcy@uncg.edu
Director, Office of Assessment Jodi Pettazzoni Jepettaz@uncg.edu
Chair, Undergraduate Curriculum Committee Scott Howerton wshowert@uncg.edu
Director, Teaching Innovations Office Laura Pipe lmpipe@uncg.edu
University Teaching and Learning Commons Representative Dave Teachout djteacho@uncg.edu
University Registrar's Office Representative Melanie Hoover mlhoover@uncg.edu
University Registrar Chris Partridge c_partridge@uncg.edu
Assistant Director of Transfer Initiatives Trina Gabriel tlgabrie@uncg.edu

Meeting Notes

Spring 2021
  • January 7
  • January 14
  • January 21
  • January 28
  • February 4
Fall 2020
Summer 2020
  • May 15
  • May 27
  • June 3
  • June 10
  • June 17
  • June 24
  • July 15
  • July 22
Spring 2020